The proposal of offering the nursing course at the Benguet State University was in response to the need for nursing education in the Cordillera provinces after the phasing1 out of the only government school of nursing in the region, the Baguio General Hospital and Medical Center School of Nursing in 1985.

Dr. Lucio B. Victor, President of Benguet State University (BSU) was invited to attend an Advisory Board Meeting of the Baguio General Hospital and Medical Center sometime in the late 1980s. The need to establish a government college of nursing in the Cordillera Region was discussed and Dr. Victor was challenged to look into the possibility of offering the course at BSU. Dr. Victor took up the challenge and immediately formed an Ad Hoc committee to prepare a feasibility study on the proposal. Dr. Methodia Mercado, Dean of the Graduate School of BSU was appointed to chair the committee. Congressman Samuel Dangwa then sponsored HB No. 35387 “Establishing a School of Nursing for the Cordillera Region and Nearby Provinces of Benguet and Appropriating Funds Thereof” in support of BSU offering of the nursing course. Despite this, on May 26, 1990, the BSU Board of Regents made a historical and momentous decision by approving the opening of the BSN Program. Subsequently, BSU started to offer the BSN program in June 1990.

The first instructors were Mrs. Louisa F. Laron and Mrs. Carol J. Lim, School Nurses of the University Medical Clinic. On October 1, 1991, Dr. Florence C. Cawaon was designated Chairman of the Department of Nursing. Laboratory classes in nursing were held at the former Medical clinic which was converted into a classroom. The consultation room of the new medical clinic was the faculty room and office of the Department Chair. In June1992, the Nursing Department transferred to the ground floor of the Phase II building of the University Library. It shared space with the Publications and Media office. The College occupied the said building until March 2000 when it moved to a three-storey building. The clearance/confirmation of the BSN curriculum on September 24, 1992 was made possible through the support and representation of Congressman Dangwa and the combined efforts of Dr. Lucio B. Victor, University President, Dr. Carlos T. Buasen, Sr., Executive Vice President, Dr. Ursula C. Perez, Vice President for Academic Affairs, and Dr. Florence C. Cawaon, Department Chair. 

On March 31, 1993, the Department of Nursing was upgraded into a College. Dr. Cawaon was designated Dean on June 1, 1993 of the newly created College of Nursing. On March 25, 1994, the College held its first graduation. There were 85 students who comprised the first batch of graduates with the degree Bachelor of Science in Nursing.

Excellent nursing education that provides graduates with self-direction, competence, and compassion.

The College of Nursing is committed to provide a strong academic and professional foundation for the practice of nursing.

The Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) Program is a fouryear course designed to prepare student to function completely and efficiently as a professional nurse in any health care setting.

The College Secretary

Benguet State University
College of Nursing
Km. 5, La Trinidad, Benguet
2601 Philippines
eMail: dean.cn@bsu.edu.ph
Fax. 074- 422- 2281