BSU student-journalists shine in nat’l confab

By jtabangcura - Posted on 18 September 2014

Student-journalists from the different college publications of the Benguet State University (BSU) reaped awards during the 8th Annual National Convention of School Press Advisers Movement (SPAM), Inc.; the 5th National Journalism Quiz Bee: Pambansang Pautakang Pampahayagan; and 2nd International Cultural Exchange on September 11-13 at the Teachers Camp, Baguio City.

From among the more or less 500 participants nationwide, the Team BSU is Best Radio Broadcasting Team of the Year, Best TV News Cast Team of the Year, Best I-dokumento Team of the Year, and 1st Runner-Up in Simulated Talk Show (tertiary level). The BSU team consisted of The Mountain Collegian (MC), the official student publication of BSU; the CA Pride of College of Agriculture; the CHET Quarterly of the College of Home Economics and Technology; The Blue Courier (TBC) of the College of Teacher Education; and the KaliCASan of the College of Arts and Sciences.

For Radio Broadcasting, BSU is represented by David Kidpo Jr. (BSDC), Mark Samuel De Guzman (MC), and Aiza Ortega (TBC). In TV News Cast, the participants were Mark Samuel De Guzman (MC), Divina Picpican (CHET Quarterly), and Rhe-Ann Ngayaan (MC). Further, the I-dokumento team was headed by Kidpo, De Guzman, and Apolinario Bagano Jr (CA Pride).

As their mainstream counterparts, Jessica Sojo (GMA 7) and Sonia Soto (CLTV 36) were chosen as this year's SPAM's Awardees of Excellence in the Field of Broadcasting and Kara David in the Field of Documentary Reportage. Wesley Dizon, a representative of GMA News Team received the awards of Sojo and David. Dane Leprozo, GMA video man, covered the footage of the event.

Meanwhile, an Award of Excellence in the Pursuit of Campus Journalism in the Philippines was received by MC as the highest pointer in Best Publication. Its adviser, Dr. Grace T. Bengwayan, was awarded the Medallion of Excellence in the Field of Campus Journalism (Adviser Category), and its Editor-In-Chief, Rhe-Ann B. Ngayaan, was granted the Medallion of Excellence in the Field of Campus Journalism (Student Journalist Category).

On the pre-judged individual events, Arniel Dumigsi (MC) was adjudged the Feature Story Writer of the Year. Rhe-Ann Ngayaan (MC) and Richard Giye (MC) both emerged 2nd Runners-Up as Opinion Journalist of the Year and News Writer of the Year, respectively.

From the results of the on-the-spot contests (Tertiary), Dumigsi (MC) placed 1st in DevCom editing (Filipino), Giye (MC) ranked 4th in DevCom editing (English), Bernice Lee (CA Pride) landed 4th in Feature editing (English), Jehan Laoyan (TBC) made it to the 7th Place in News editing (English), and Bagano (CA Pride) got the 8th Place in DevCom editing (English).

On the other hand, Milliscent Lucio of BSU- Secondary Laboratory School bagged the 1st Place in Feature editing (English-Secondary level) as well as the 10th Place in News editing (English). Likewise, Samsi Wanli Nahial secured the 3rd Place in Feature editing (Filipino) and 2nd Place in News editing (Filipino); and Joanna Mae Toring and Claire Rufino both landed on the 4th Place in Editorial Writing, Filipino, and English category, respectively.

Themed “Inculcating the essence of Truth, Credibility, and Morality in Campus Journalism amidst Global Challenges”, the three-day lecture and competition served as an avenue to recognize excellent services of campus journalists and advisers, and to hone their skills and acquire recent trends in journalism from veteran journalists and mainstream media practitioners.

According to Dr. Melanie Briones, SPAM is unrelenting in giving recognition to campus journalists and advisers who have exemplified outstanding performance and are truly committed in the journalism profession. “We will continue to serve and provide student journalists and advisers avenues to be acknowledged and to further hone their crafts at the same time understanding the essence of print media especially campus paper," said Briones.

The speakers and judges of the different events were Asst. Bureau Chief, Dudut Abano, Philippine Daily Inquirer (Northern Luzon Bureau); Program Director, Melba Estonilo, DZUP 1402, University of the Philippines-Diliman; Pres. And General Manager Sonia Soto, CLTV 36; Research and Development Director Ace Soliman, Henyo Factory; Vice-President Lydia Villanueva, Imus Institute Inc.; OIC-Information Center Manager Marie Joy Simpao, Philippine Information Agency- Zambales; and Dr. Briones.

Baguio City served as this year’s host for SPAM conference in coordination with BSU. As the host school, BSU prepared the stage decor of the venue. The BSU-Glee Club rendered doxology during the Opening Ceremonies while CCA-Highland Cultural Dance Troupe (Kontad) amazed the audience with a cultural dance rendezvous. Kontad also led the crowd in a community dancing during the National Federation of Campus Journalists' Night. Moreover, the Korean students of the BSU- International Language Center serenaded the journalists with a song as part of the International-Cultural Exchange Night. # Rhe-Ann B. Ngayaan BEE '15