BSU Alumni 2016 Centennial Year Search for Awardees

The Benguet State University, the first agricultural school and the oldest in Cordillera is celebrating its 100 years of birth. In this occasion, it is just fitting to recognize its alumni that gave glory to their alma mater. This includes the graduates of Trinidad Farm School (TFS), Trinidad Agricultural School (TAS), Trinidad National Agricultural School (TNAS), Mountain National Agricultural School (MNAS), Mountain National Agricultural College (MNAC), Mountain Agricultural College (MAC), Mountain State Agricultural College (MSAC), and Benguet State University (BSU).

In its centennial year, the university aims to honor extraordinary alumni who best represent the spirit of the school through the years and embody the Centennial theme: “Going Global: the Centennial Challenge”. These are the alumni with strong commitment to social change through the practice of their profession; private practice, community involvement or dedication to non-profit work; leadership in an agency, institution/organization, private practice or a community; creativity in non-traditional or innovative approaches to practice; contributions to the field through research and publications; effective advocacy in social, peace and order; and involvement in professional, civic or community organizations.

The awards shall be given during the culminating program of the Centennial Celebration on September 26-27, 2017 and in celebration of the start of the next centennial regime of Benguet State University.

1. Most Distinguished Alumni Award. This is the highest award that will be given to alumni of BSU who demonstrated extra ordinary professional success and achievement and has brought the name of the university in the international arena. There will only be one.
2. Distinguished BSU Alumni Award. This award will be given to alumni of BSU who demonstrated extra ordinary professional success and achievement over the span of their entire career (25 or more years) and made significant contributions over the last 25 years in the local and/or national level to address contemporary issues but not limited to:
     • Advancement of Science
     • Community development
     • Environmental protection
     • Good governance
     • Enterprise development
     • Technology development
     • Peace and Order
     • Science and Technology
     • Arts, culture and sports
The Colleges/Institutes shall likewise bestow distinguished alumni awards to their alumni who exemplify the ideals of their college/institute or those who worked in their field of specialization in the last 25 years (1986-2016). One among them shall be nominated by the College/Institute to the Most Distinguished Alumni Award.
3. Alumni Family Recognition Award
a. Multi-generation Alumni Family Award. An alumni family that produced at least three (3) generations or more alumni in the college level as of the end of 2016 (main campus only).
b. Alumni Family Loyalty Award. An alumni family whose children (all, with at least five children) studied in the elementary to the college level (main campus only).
4. Special Awards
a. Alumni Group Service Award. This shall be given to recognized/organized alumni associations/chapters that gave voluntary support or rendered exceptional service to the university.
b. Community Service Award. This shall be given to individual alumni in far flung areas with exceptional service to the community but have remained unrecognized.
c. Oldest Surviving Alumni. This shall be given to the oldest alumni who is still alive during the search period.

1. Duly accomplished Nomination Form.
2. Brief description of the nominees’ qualifications highlighting outstanding achievements deserving of recognition (not more than 2 pages). List of recognition awards shall likewise be included indicating the title of award, name of awarding institution, place, and date.
3. Updated curriculum vitae with three latest ID photo (2.5” x 2.5”, white background).

1. Nomination is open to all alumni of TFS, TAS, TNAS, MNAS, MNAC, MAC, MSAC, and BSU. Those currently serving as officer or member of the Board of Trustees of the association and/or University Search Committee are however disqualified.
2. Any member of the alumni may nominate as many qualified alumni as possible using the attached nomination forms. Alumni may also nominate themselves. The colleges/institutes however should actively seek out nomination for their alumni through their own search initiatives.
3. A soft copy of the nomination form can be downloaded from the BSU website Hard copies of the nomination forms are also available at the BSU Alumni Office at the BSU Alumni Center (between Land Bank and BSU Gladiola Center, Betag, La Trinidad, Benguet).

1. Accomplished nomination forms and supporting documents must be received on or before June 30, 2017 by:
          The BSU Centennial Year Alumni Awards Committee
          c/o BSU Alumni Association, Inc., BSU Alumni Center
          Betag, La Trinidad, Benguet, Philippines 2601
For further inquiries, contact either of the following:
          Tel. (063) (74)309-3878, Mobile No. 09088647520 or 09465317685
          Email: or
2. Awardees shall be notified of the results of screening process not later than August 30, 2017.
3. All awardees are required to attend the awarding ceremony on September 26, 2017. Failure to attend the awarding ceremony will result to the deferment of the award except probably for the oldest surviving alumni.